Mathematics is the most beautiful and the least controversial religion that humans have ever invented

Thursday, May 7th, 2015

I’ve started teaching mathematics. “Live” and online, which I find to be even more exciting than ever. I’ve got three kids from London whom I teach on Skype. How can it possibly fail to be amazing or rewarding!?! Yesterday we talked about fractions approaching zero, when their denominators approach infinity. And I felt that the kid online (year 9) had understood the beauty and transcendence of all that! What an experience to share! I could have cried, I felt as if running on a parallel track with the kid and those fractions, and when they were approaching infinity, I was approaching something which was as close to bliss as made no difference

05--imagesI’ve also just cobbled something like an “ad” for those “Maths on Skype”, the link of which I’m  including below. I pretend to be able to teach in Russian and French. The latter parlance would be a bit of a challenge for me, at least initially, but I hope to be able to get my “religious” message across. Yes, the C of M (the Church of Maths) should be joined by everyone to promote Peace on Earth as IMHO it is the least contradictory (not counting French grammar 🙂) and the most peaceful religion that humans have ever invented !!!

Please check it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t-1Vy9tRXWU

2 comments on “Mathematics is the most beautiful and the least controversial religion that humans have ever invented

  1. abyssbrain says:

    While I agree that math is beautiful, I don’t think that it can be classified as a “religion” even metaphorically. Let’s assume that math is really a religion, then I’m sure that it would be a very chaotic and controversial subject. This is true with the other sciences as well.

Leave a Reply

